Photo of 2020 Percy-Synar Awardees with the Brandts and IGS Co-Directors

The 2020 Percy-Synar Awardees with the generous donors and the IGS Co-Directors; 

From Left: Jacob Levy, Meanna Gray, Eric Schickler, Patrice Bugelas-Brandt, Bill Brandt, G. Cristina Mora, Isabel GarcĂ­a Valdivia, Charlotte Hill, Varsha Sarveshwar, Corinne Biencourt, Lily Green


The Institute offers a wide variety of awards and grants designed to recognize student achievement, and to foster ongoing student research at the highest levels. These programs provide both graduate and undergraduate students with recognition and resources as they pursue groundbreaking research. In addition to recognizing past student achievement, these programs provide students with critical resources, allowing them to acquire data or software, travel to archives around the country, or engage in other research activities.


David M. Howard Memorial Prize

William K. (Sandy) Muir, Jr. Leadership Award

Charles H. Percy Undergraduate Grant for Public Affairs Research

Mike Synar Graduate Research Fellowship

In 2018, the Underhill Fellowship moved to its new home at the UC Berkeley Law School. Please visit the new page: R. Kirk Underhill Graduate Fellowship